Company Leadership



Under the artistic leadership of Norbe & Rafaela Risco, Kentucky Ballet Theatre has flourished and looks forward to a bright future. Governed by a Board of Directors, Kentucky Ballet Theatre strives to provide the highest caliber of performing arts to the Central Kentucky community and beyond. 

Norbe Risco
Artistic Director & Acting Executive Director

Norbe Risco has served as Artistic Director of Kentucky Ballet Theatre since 2001.       Mr. Risco began his dance training in Camaguey, Cuba, in 1980. He graduated in 1988 from the Professional Art School. Upon graduation, he was invited to dance as a guest artist at the Teatro Nuovo in Turin, Italy. On his return from Italy, Mr. Risco was invited to join the Ballet de Camaguey under the 

direction of Fernando Alonso. In 1990, he became Principal dancer and toured to Greece, Cyprus, Brazil, Venezuela, Jamaica, Mexico, Martinique and Guadeloupe Islands. In 1993 he joined the Ballet de Monterrey, Mexico, under the direction of Ann Marie D’Angelo and Fernando Bujones (1995-1996). Mr. Risco has also worked with choreographers and dancers such as Melissa Haydn, Cynthia Gregory, Kevin McKenzie, and Ivan Nagy.
He has been a member of Ballet Theater of Chicago and Lyric Opera of Chicago. His repertoire includes roles such as Albrecht in Giselle, Franz in Coppélia, Colin in La
Fille Mal Gardée, Dracula in Dracula, Phantom in Phantom of the Opera, Siegfried in Swan Lake, and Cowardly Lion in The Wizard of Oz. He has also performed Principal roles in Paquita, Raymonda, Napoli, Three Preludes (Ben Stevenson), Le Corsaire
(pas de deux), Don Quixote (pas de deux), Diana and Acteon (pas de deux), Romeo
and Juliet (pas de deux), Don Jose (Carmen), Nutcracker, and others. Mr. Risco has choreographed a new Nutcracker based on the original version. Other choreographic works include Don Quixote and Degas, as well as his original ballets: Hoops, a comedic tribute to Kentucky basketball, The Wizard of Oz, Cinderella, Carmen, Pinocchio, Peter Pan, Beauty & the Beast, and for the fall season, Dracula, Phantom of the Opera, and The Witches of Doon. In 2012, Mr. Risco choreographed the world premier of “The Night Before Christmas”, which was a tremendous success for the company. In 2016, Mr. Risco presented an exciting season, which included the premier of the new production that he choreographed with his wife Rafaela, “The Little Mermaid”. In 2011, the Kentucky Arts Council awarded the “Al Smith Award” in choreography to Mr. Risco, a very high honor for an artist in the State of Kentucky. Mr. Risco has been part of “Ballet Under the Stars” for 21 years and since 2002, Mr. Risco has directed the event at Woodland Park. 


Sponsored by Terry & Rainey Hayes

Brigid L. DeVries
Board of Directors

After Jan Foody's passing in April 2015, Brigid DeVries took the reins as sitting Board President. A member of the original Ballet Guild and board, Brigid has watched Kentucky Ballet Theatre grow into

the successful organization it has become. Brigid not only believes in the educational value of classical dance, but the ability of KBT to serve surrounding communities through its outreach programs. Brigid previously served as the Commissioner of the Kentucky State High School Athletic Association and brings a wealth of management and leadership experience to the organization. Brigid also works with several other non-profits throughout Central Kentucky.

Rafaela Risco
Ballet Mistress & Academy Director


Rafaela Risco, a native of Cuba and now an American citizen, retired as a dancer after the 2009–10 season, and was the principal female dancer of the Kentucky Ballet Theatre since its founding in 1998. She was trained at the Vocational School of the Arts in Camaguey, Cuba. From 1989 to 1994 she danced under the direction of Fernando

Alonso in Ballet de Camaguey. From 1994-1996, Mrs. Risco worked with Ballet de Monterrey under the direction of Fernando Bujones. In 1989, Mrs. Risco receivedboth the Gold Medal and the Grand Prix for best female performance in the UNEAC Competition. She has toured with Ballet de Camaguey to Brazil, Uruguay, Jamaica, Venezuela, Mexico, Martinique, and Guadaloupe Islands. Her classical repertoire includes Principal roles in Giselle, Cinderella, Wizard of Oz (Dorothy), Paquita, Coppélia, Don Quixote, Les Sylphides, Romeo and Juliet, Le Corsaire, Swan Lake, La Vivandiere, La Fille Mal Gardée, Dracula, Phantom of the Opera, Carmen, The Nutcracker, and many others. With her husband, Norbe, they have choreographed The Nutcracker based on the original version, Dracula, The Wizard of Oz, The Witches of Doon, Carmen, Phantom of the Opera, Peter Pan, Beauty & The Beast, The Night Before Christmas and The Little Mermaid. In 2017, Rafaela received the Distinguished Arts Educator of the Year Award from the National Society of Arts & Letters, Kentucky chapter. She is the Costume Designer for KBT and also does most of the staging for KBT’s productions. Mrs. Risco has been part of “Ballet Under the Stars” for 21 years. Since 2003 Rafaela has directed the KBT’s Academy. 

Sponsored by Gail Hart & Dan Featherston

Adell Cook,
Office Administrator

Adell Cook, as been the KBT office administrator since 2010.  She provides KBT with strong academy & company support. Adell oversees website and media presence, ticket sales for company performances, and all details related 

to registration for each student and family in the academy. Her commitment to the organization is unparalleled as she loves being a part of a flourishing academy and strong professional company.

Brie Lowry-Cox,
Graphic Designer


Brie Lowry graduated with her BFA in Ballet and a minor in General Business in May 2011 from Texas Christian University. Ms. Lowry officially retired from performing in fall 2017 after Ballet Under the Stars, fully transitioning into the company's Executive Director role 

for the 20th anniversary season after her appointment in the spring of 2014.  Brie continues to work close with the organization as the graphic designer for all prints publications and web design as well as by serving on the Advisory board.